Makeup to Save On

Makeup. Ugh. A most favorite and most annoying toy to play with. Personally, I love doing my makeup. Maybe it’s the art major in me, but it’s just relaxing in the best way. The ultimate struggle with makeup? The nice stuff is just so gosh darn expensive. Personally, I can’t afford to have my entire collection of makeup consist of brands like MAC, Nars, Too Faced, and so many others. SO, after many attempts at trial and error, I’ve found what I think is on par with the name brand stuff that you can easily find in any drug store!

  1. Mascara. When it comes to mascara, I go for a name brand of either Too Faced Better Than Sex, or Dior Diorshow. Both give great volume and full, thick lashes! However, ranging $23-28, I just can’t justify the cost considering that you have to replace mascara relatively often (when compared to most other cosmetics). My recommendation for a great drugstore mascara that provides the same (if not better!!!) volume and thickness, is Maybelline Colossal Volume mascara. It’s the yellow tube, and you can get it anywhere from $5-10 depending where you go. So worth it, every single time.
  2. Eyeliner. Whether a gel liner or a liquid liner, I will typically always go for a drugstore alternative. For a top brand, with gel I will go for MAC or Bobbi Brown. When it comes to a liquid/felt tip, I definitely love Urban Decay or Nars. The comparable alternatives are honestly fabulous – Maybelline makes an incredible waterproof gel liner that looks and feels almost exactly like the MAC version. What’s better? It only costs about $8 in comparison to $17-24 for MAC or Bobbi Brown. For a liquid alternative, I keep going back to Maybelline – for felt tip: Master Precise, for liquid: Line Stiletto. Both just create such a solid line that dries fast and lasts all day long. Highly recommend for someone that wants a precise line with minimal effort. Maybelline kills the eyeliner game.
  3. Brushes. People can’t get enough of Chanel, MAC, Make Up For Ever and Bobbi Brown. However, this is of course with good reason – they truly are quality products. As a college student, I can’t afford a full set of any of those brands, so I’ve gathered quite a few of a great brand I was recommended my freshman year – Real Techniques. Available at some grocery stores as well as Ulta, you can buy them in small sets based on what you’re looking for – sculpting, a core set, a travel set, etc. You also have the option to buy singles of whatever you’d like! Ranging $6-10 for single brushes and up to $20 for a set of 4, I can’t recommend them enough. They last forever and are great quality, if you’re a numbers person, I give these a 12/10.

IMG_1276

Hope this helps anyone struggling with what to splurge on and what to save on!

Less Money More Love,
AlyKat

 

Leave a Reply

